Miscellaneous

忙しい-ness..?

Image

Akamaru Tamago Ramen at Ippudo

Have I really been “busy” as such?  Sure, I work 2-3 times a week, but tiredness (sore feet – if you work in retail, you know what I mean) and going out with friends shouldn’t be excuses for compromising my N3 preparation…my Anki cards are piling up and it’s stressing me out, and I’m falling behind in my notes…I’m such a bad procrastinator, and language learning is something I love yet I’m still putting things off!  Is this not concerning???? >.< What’s wrong with me…Why am I deliberately creating a stressful situation for myself when everyone else is enjoying their pre-Uni carefree lives?

This is just a mini freak out I suppose.  On the upside, my tutor marked my first trial test and she said that I’m doing really well!  However, Japanese people are super polite so…I should be doing a proper update (and post on my notebook – it’s really neat and pretty I promise!) on my progress soon.

じゃね ^^

Standard

5 thoughts on “忙しい-ness..?

    • Thank you for your kind words ^^ My first blog comment! I read your ‘about’ section on your blog and I’m super impressed/jealous – I hope I can someday be as good at Japanese as you.

      Also, I’m about to start preparation for the DELF B1 exam, and seeing as you have passed the B2 exam, I just wanted to ask: how did you prepare? Do you have any special tips or resource/textbook recommendation (for self-study)?

      • Take it one day at a time– the biggest advice I can give you is to ask where these languages will fit into your life once you’ve gained some more fluency. If you imagine yourself being able to be more conversant in Japanese, who will you be talking to? about what?

        If you start there, sometimes the grammar patterns and vocabulary start to have more immediate relevance.

        Most people hear that question and start talking about “living in Japan” (or France for French, etc.), but a big part of my philosophy is informed by the experience of watching people who had the chance to live overseas (some for many years) but never gained much fluency at all because they basically created an English environment around themselves (even if their original intentions had been otherwise).

        So, if anime is your thing, then try and dive into it… if it’s music, that’s fine… some sort of martial art? If you have a hobby that you really enjoy at home, then use Japanese *to explore that topic*. I know it sounds far-fetched, but even if you told me your hobby was gardening, I know for a fact that I could spend ten minutes searching youtube before I found some entertaining Japanese person youtube-blogging their garden.

        My experience has been that ‘actively’ working on one language at a time works best for me. If you’re working toward the next round of JLPT exams then focus on that.

        Try to strike a balance so that you have things you do when you’re “working” on Japanese, and things that you can do in Japanese when you’re not feeling so まじめ。

        There are plenty of Japanese people that are in Australia for study. As long as you’re respectful of the fact that they’re probably trying to build an English life in Australia, I hope you’re making friends in that crowd…. inevitably, you’ll stumble on a few people that will prefer to simply speak to you in Japanese (just like the English speakers overseas who do the same thing). You can also surely find some contacts at the local Japanese community centre (mothers with kids in school, etc etc.)

        Anyway— here is a post I wrote about DELF… I had a few conversations with people in the comments after the main post, you may find some of it useful (questions about books, etc.)

        http://wordsummit.wordpress.com/2010/02/21/thoughts-on-delf-b2/

        Also, here is a post about tracing kanji that sprouted from a book I saw in a bookstore:
        http://wordsummit.wordpress.com/2011/03/01/diy-tools-make-your-own-tracing-sheets-for-delfhsk-writing-practice/

      • Thank you for all your insight and advice – it’s nice for us language learners to help each other out eh? ^^

        I understand what you mean about exploring topics of interest in a target language – I read Japanese fashion blogs and watch cooking videos! When I’ve upped my kanji level a bit, I’d like to aim for purchasing and cooking from a Japanese cookbook (they’re so beautiful…>.<) Also, I actually have a part-time job at a sushi shop, so my work requires me to speak Japanese, and I also have a Japanese friend from when I did a short homestay during high school, so I'm getting real-life practice.

        Thanks also for the link to your DELF post – lots of good tips in there!

      • ahh– seems like you’ve found a niche for yourself. To build off what I was saying, I would say don’t put off the cooking— look up an internet recipe and make the process of learning how to read the recipe in front of you the homework for the week…. you may find that your homework is then a little more engaging.

        Best of luck with everything!

Leave a Reply

