Japanese, JLPT N3

私の勉強について / My JLPT N3 study (so far)

皆さん 今日は!ここ で あまり 書かなくて、ごめんね。。でも、今 私 の N3 の 試験 の 準備 について 書くよ。行こう! Hello everybody (or nobody, doesn’t matter) – I haven’t been able to write here because I was computer-less for about half a week and then I went on a short beach holiday with my family.  Having said that, I still took all my work with me for the 3 days, and squeezed in some study in the morning and evening, and I have also been taking my notes to work to occupy me during my 20 minute lunch break.  It’s a stretch to fit study in almost everyday, but hey, I like a challenge ^^  So without further ado, an elaboration on my N3 study routine so far: let’s get started 😀

ImageFrom the back: Vocabulary, Kanji and Grammar chapters from 日本語総まとめ (Nihongo Sou-Matome)

ImageGrammar sections have lots of nice sample sentences and brief notes on the formation of each structure.  However, there is often no further elaboration (expects you to understand the meaning and usage of the point from the examples I guess?  Which is alright for me for the easier stuff anyway and keeps things precise), so for some of the harder structures, I supplement my notes with explanations from Tae Kim or Maggie Sensei ^^

ImageImageClose up of kanji and vocab lists from the book

And now for my own notebook…ImageImageImageGrammar: My notebook has really fat margins, but I managed to devise a system so as not to waste space- just put your main heading down the side!  I then have sub-headings (for example, expressions of emphasis branches out into ばかり、だけしか etc), with notes on usage, formation and examples below, with the structure highlighted in red.

ImageImageSimilar layout for vocab: everything is sub-divided as necessary, and I put the kanji readings on top in red in case I forget! All of my vocab and kanji has also been made into Anki decks for optimal retention (hopefully).

ImageImageHere are my kanji notes: readings once again in red.ImageImageAnd my kanji workbook! I suppose this is sort of like the manual manifestation of Anki – I add a new set of characters every 2 or 3 days.  I find the development of muscle memory that comes with writing them out helpful in remembering everything.  I supplement the kanji in the main textbook with characters from Basic Kanji Book 2.

日本語総まとめ (Nihongo Sou-Matome) is technically designed to prepare you for the JLPT in 6 weeks.  So each chapter is divided into a “week”, with a grammar, vocab and kanji section for each day of the week for 6 days, and some trial tests/review material for day 7 (if that makes sense?).  So if you’re a learner that likes structure and needs to be pushed, this could be a good book as it makes you feel bad for missing a day (is that a good thing? anyway…) ^^

So in terms of study, I try to fit it in every day, but of course sometimes that just doesn’t happen, but a typical study “to-do” list could look something like this for me:

-write grammar (3-4 points), vocab and kanji notes for the “day”

-set up necessary vocab and kanji decks in Anki, do review of existing decks

-look up kanji stroke order for new kanji to put in workbook, and write out other characters currently being practised

If something doesn’t get done, I just push harder the next day 😀  Once a week, I also hand in exercises and a trial test to be corrected by my tutor.

So yeah, that’s about it for N3 at the moment.  I hope to start incorporating some listening practice soon (Ninja Warrior and Iron Chef doesn’t count…).  I’ve also downloaded an Integrated Approach and ordered Tobira (AMAZON SHIPPING TO AUSTRALIA IS SO SLOW), so they should get a look in too (I swear only language learners get excited about new textbooks >.<)!

Thanks for reading everybody, and hope to see you again soon ^^

読んで くれて ありがとう! そして、まちがえ が あったら、教えて- 私  の勉強 の ために 大切だからんだ!

Standard

4 thoughts on “私の勉強について / My JLPT N3 study (so far)

  1. worldcitizensunite says:

    You seem a lot more organized than me! haha 🙂 I’m using Genki I to self-study before I head to school in Japan.

    • I can assure you that the reality is a lot less organised than the photos! But we all have to try our best eh?

      I used Genki during my high school years (just graduated) and they’re really good for N4-5 level so you’re on the right track 😀

      When will you be going to Japan?

Leave a Reply

