Miscellaneous

Backing Down

Image

 So I’ve decided not prepare for my JLPT N3 and DELF B1 exams at the same time – rather, I will study for the N3 and take it next July, and then have about 4 months to prepare for my B1 in November. Japanese study currently takes up a lot of my time, and I also work 3 days a week.  Sometimes when I go out with friends, I even feel anxious that I’ll get behind.  I don’t see how throwing in French study as well will help this feeling of stress. I’ve just graduated high school, I’ve just finished my exams – I should be enjoying myself right? I like a challenge (especially a linguistic one) but I don’t want language learning to become so stressful that I associate it with negative emotions.  I now recognise my limits, and wish to respect those.  But there’s still a part of me that’s saying: “Are you sure you’re not just taking the easy way out…” Am I? I hope I’m making the right decision – I’m worried that my French ability will degrade (and I haven’t even thought about Italian for a whole month!!) but I don’t want to be so overwhelmed that I lose motivation and end up doing badly in both exams…I don’t know 😦 But in other news, I just received a school prize for Romance Languages, of which I’m proud ^^ But still…so many doubts…

Standard

Leave a Reply

