Japanese, JLPT N3

合格した~!!!

Edit136

Checked my JLPT N3 results last week and err…yeah I passed guys! I’m really happy with how I did, and because it’s the first JLPT exam I’ve ever taken, it serves as a good diagnostic tool for N2 and N1 in future (if I indeed wish to take them T.T). Well…I’m pretty sure I’ll want to take N2 at least. Looking back to the post that I wrote straight after exam, it seems that my predictions were spot on in that reading > listening > language knowledge. The total mark is about right too because practice papers are always easier (so practice tests usually mean about 10 more marks). I’m pleasantly surprised that I got full marks for the reading section though! There was one article where I literally had no idea what was going on =.=”

I have a good feeling what caused my shortcomings in vocabulary and grammar = LACK OF REVIEWING MECHANISMS in my learning regime. I use Anki, and I know that it works for me when I do use it, but the problem is…I just can’t be bothered with it. I use the shared online decks (so I don’t have to make my own) and Anki does all the review period calculations (so I don’t have to organise that myself) BUT I STILL DON’T REVISE MY ANKI CARDS REGULARLY ENOUGH. Idk, I just find it…boring? And I think it’s a vicious cycle because then all the Anki cards pile up and that makes me feel even less willing to use it T.T Does anybody have any other suggestions for learning vocabulary and grammar? I feel this is kind of ironic though, because although my vocab and grammar is apparently not too good, I’m able to read Japanese texts well? I guess global comprehension is a bit different.

Well, that’s about it from me. I hope all you other JLPT test-takers got the results you wanted as well! You must let me know how you did ^^

Standard

23 thoughts on “合格した~!!!

  1. Congratulations! Funny you should mention about Anki being boring. Although I’ve never used it myself, I’ve been thinking it seems like it would get quite boring quickly and it would be easy to loose motivation.

    For learning grammar, I personally like books like this (http://www.amazon.com/Dictionary-Intermediate-Japanese-Grammar/dp/4789007758/ref=sr_1_6?ie=UTF8&qid=1422967724&sr=8-6&keywords=japanese+grammar) and just used to sit and read entry by entry.

    Another option is to just look up each grammatical pattern as you come to it, but that can be tedious and without the fundamentals it can be hard to know what is even a pattern.

    I guess you are reading my blog anyway but I’d be glad to write an article about any specific points of the language that are tricky.

    Regarding vocab, I usually don’t use lists, but instead prefer to learn by context first, and then look up the word. So like when I am reading a novel or manga, I first try and guess what it means based on the context, and then I almost always end up looking it up in a dictionary (unless I am 100% about the meaning *and* pronunciation).

    It’s quite tedious at first, but I’ve went through whole novels looking up the words, and now I am finally at a point where I don’t have to look up a word for every sentence. (Well, that depends on the book, for some I still would…)

    • Thank you for all the advice! I do try to learn vocab in context and I have a separate book where I note down words I’ve picked up in books / manga, but the problem is that the language found in the things I like to read can be quite different to the articles etc used in JLPT T.T I’ll get there someday …

      The Kinokuniya in my city is having a sale so I’ll probably buy the grammar dictionary (as I’ve heard lots of good things about it). What level would you recommend for N2 study?

      • Wow, you have a Kinokuniya in your city, very lucky! (:

        Unfortunately I can’t give you much details about anything related to the JLPT since I haven’t taken it or even researched much about it. Why I haven’t would probably be a good topic for a post sometime (:

        For grammar dictionaries I recommend just buying any you can get your hands on and going through them all gradually (: But of course it would be most logical to get the ones that are more beginner or basic first.

      • Yes, I’m very lucky because Sydney is such a multicultural city ^^ We also have some secondhand Japanese bookshops so those are often a good second option for me when Kinokuniya is too expensive.

        I’ve managed to find PDFs of all 3 levels of the dictionaries, so hopefully I can work through them as you suggested! 🙂

      • hmm i’ve done some rather basic research using our country’s latest census, but there are apparently close to 2,000 people of Japanese heritage here in Sydney, so I’m assuming that the Japanese-speaking population is bigger. Sydney has the most Japanese people out of any city in Australia. The Japanese community tends to be concentrated in Sydney’s inner city and North Sydney area.

  2. HM says:

    Congratz.. Can you share some of your study tips and resources? Bought tobira, Sou matome and Kaizen Master but still on week 2 of sou matome grammar.

    • Hello there, and thank you ^^

      I would recommend doing Matome first, then moving on to Kanzen Master. Matome is a bit easy for the test but it’s a good way to ease into JLPT study. I would work through Tobira throughout the two grammar books, to help with vocabulary and reading skills, and to help you see grammar in use in its passages.

      I personally used Matome and An Integrated Approach to Intermediate Japanese, as well as Anki decks for my own preparation, but Tobira is a pretty suitable textbook as well I reckon.

  3. Pingback: miracle. | Polyglot Plotting

Leave a Reply

