Japanese, Japanese Resources, JLPT N2, Miscellaneous, Resources

in with the new.

Edit154

Hello! This is my last post before semester starts again and I neglect the blog. Kinokuniya was having a start-of-semester sale so all Japanese textbooks were 20% off! Bless. So here are the goods! ^^

I’ve started working though the Shin Kanzen Master N2 Grammar book (on Chapter 2!) and this is the series I intend to use to hopefully help me on my way to JLPT N2. I’ve found downloads for all the books in the series except for the listening book, so I thought I may as well buy it. I also decided to buy Unicom’s listening book because I liked what I saw as I flicked through: it appears that Kanzen listening focuses more on improving your listening skills in general, whereas Unicom is more test-specific. So I think they should make a good duo a bit later down the track. I don’t know why both publishers decided to use a red/pink colour for their books though, it’s an odd coincidence! Is there some neurological study linking red and pink with err…listening? I don’t know. Perhaps somebody can shed some light on this 😀

And the third book is of course Benny Lewis’ Fluent in 3 Months. Because I read his blog fairly regularly, I didn’t really feel the need to buy it at the time of its release, but I have since decided to attend his meet up here in Sydney in late March, so I figured the polite thing to do would be to actually have a book for him to sign! A lot of the advice is quite familiar to me, but I’ve been reading it to and from work on the train and I’ve been enjoying it very much. The book is inexpensive and well worth a read. I’m really looking forward to meeting him! But I suspect that I will probably just end up tongue-tied T.T Ah well. We’ll see.

So that’s about it for this week. If any of you have experience with these listening books, or the Shin Kanzen Master books for N2, please let me know – I’d be interested to hear your thoughts. As I mentioned before, I hope that I can keep this blog updated (I’ve been doing so well, this is unusual orz) during semester, but my priority during university is first and foremost not failing law school so we’ll have to see >.< But I’m determined to continue to have time in my life for my beloved languages!

I hope your learning is progressing well, and until next time! ^_^

Standard

6 thoughts on “in with the new.

  1. Hannah says:

    Looks great! That’d be awesome to meet up with him in person! XD Something that’s helped me since I’ve gotten back to uni is scheduling posts, so when you have the time you can do it 🙂

    • Yes, I really am excited, he’s practically my language learning hero! I might try scheduling, it’s just that I find I never have much that is language-related to blog about during uni bc I don’t get as much time to devote to study =.=

      • Hannah says:

        That’s something I’ve had too, brainstorm thoughts and opinions? Although very late, I’ve scheduled posts about my travels and then thoughts on carry-on only (which was really handy actually). But yeah, what would you say is the thing that Benny has helped you the most with? *shrugs* 🙂

      • Hmmm…I think he’s really taught me that if I instill passion in what I do, nothing is impossible, including polyglotting my way to world domination if I so choose! 😀 I also like the way he’s debunked language learning myths – there are no barriers stopping me from achieving my goals, least of all me ^^

      • Hannah says:

        Those are very good points ^^ I find that the main thing that hinders myself is really me, it’s something that I’ve worked hard on getting through and this blog has been a big help 🙂

Leave a Reply

