Food, Italian, Japanese, Miscellaneous

sign here please.

Edit161

Hello everybody! As I had predicted, this blog isn’t being updated as regularly now that university has started up again ๐Ÿ˜ฆ But I think I will try my best to update it at least once a month (instead of the posts once a week).

So I went to Benny Lewis’ free talk and book signing at Kinokuniya here in Sydney on Thursday! To say I was excited is probably an understatement. It was just weird to see somebody that I admired so much in real life I guess. He’s a great speaker and I could see that a lot of the casual passers-by were totally feeling pumped to amp up their language learning game ๐Ÿ˜€ He did a summary of his book (so there wasn’t anything new there) and then he answered questions. Then we got our books signed! The Kinokuniya lady was very impressed that I had already made the effort to write a sticky note with my name on it before coming. I felt very organised in that respect! I was really nervous waiting my turn (I don’t know why though? There was literally no reason to be lol) and when I got to the front of the line I thanked him for finally making his way down under. He asked me what languages I was learning, so I told him the ones I know and he said he’d sign my book in French and Italian because they were his strongest languages out of the ones that we had in common. I thanked him in French and Italian andย he said I have a beautiful Italian accent (“che bel accento!”) and I nearly died on the spot, I was so happy!! He said I’d be a polyglot of the future so I told him to keep a look out, and he said I should make my way to polyglot meeting someday ๐Ÿ˜€ I debated whether to ask him to drop by my blog sometime but I was too shy to do so in the end. But he’s a very friendly person and seemed genuinely happy to meet all his readers.

I’ll also drop this photo of ramen here. It’s Ramen O-San’sย black garlic tonkotsu ramen with shallots and tamago. I really like shallots? Plus in a ramen context, shallots and black garlic help smooth out the richness of the tonkotsu. I had to drink a lot of water afterwards though because I was concerned that Benny might catch my garlic/shallot breath T.T Oh dear. So another ramen recommendation from me! It’s in Dixon House Food Court in Chinatown – if you’re a foodie, white food court lighting makes for excellent photos, so all the more incentive to get yourself over there.

Edit160

On the learning front, I’ve been working through Kanzen Master’s N2 Grammar. I’m on Chapter 4 now. I have resorted to studying on the train because I don’t really have much time otherwise to dedicate to it, but I feel very proud of my commitment so far. Here’s hoping I can keep it up! I think I’ll make a start on the Kanzen reading book around June/July, during the mid-year break.

That’s about it from me! Did anybody else go to the book sign? Is your language learning going okay? I’d love to know how you guys are doing ^^

Standard

5 thoughts on “sign here please.

  1. Hannah says:

    That’s awesome!!! I couldn’t go (’cause Tassie) but I’d love to meet him in the future. The Polyglot Meeting sounds good, I might look into that! My learning’s going good, I found some really good resources for Chinese which has been boosting my confidence ^^ How are you doing? Hope uni isn’t being too stressful ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Hopefully you’ll be able to! I wasn’t referring to a specific polyglot meeting though, I just meant the meetups that they organise through polyglot networks (idk much about those though).

      Oh that’s good to hear! Not doing too bad – uni is lawful, I’m buried under readings and works but I don’t want to fall behind so I sometimes stay up late just to finish them T.T such is law school!!! But I’ve been glad that I’ve been able to make a small commitment each day to my Japanese, for it’s consistency that counts right? ^^

      • Hannah says:

        Ill have to keep an eye out! ^^ Ah, ้ ‘ๅผตใฃใฆ๏ผ That’s good! Anything is good ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Salut Chantelle !

    Sorry you didn’t have time to mention your blog. As you saw, there were lots of people for me to chat to, but even if it was brief I was glad to meet everyone! I still remember being impressed with your languages – you’re totally kicking my ass in terms of where I was just 10 years ago.

    Keep up the excellent work, and if you’re ever in Europe or the US (which I bounce between most of the time), see on my blog where I am and come say hi again!

    Loved reading this account of the event from the other perspective!
    Cheers, and take it easy!

    • Oh my, thank you so much for stopping by (Sydney and my blog!), I really appreciate it! And I will do, best wishes for the rest of your travels ^_^

Leave a Reply

