Italian, Japanese

renaissance.

Edit172

Ciao a tutti! I’m sorry that it’s been so long. I mistakenly thought that I would be able to relax and post more these holidays but I started a new internship a couple of weeks back and I’ve just joined a student journalism initiative, so on top of my regular part-time job I’ve been so flat out =_= I feel sad that I haven’t been able to work on my hobbies and self-development as much as I had originally planned, but that’s life.

I’m finally bringing it back to ITALIAN after …. a million years because I will be starting night classes!!! Well I think it’s exciting 😀 When I did Italian as an HSC subject two years ago I got a state ranking, so the Co As It here (similar to Alliance Française but just the Italian version) gave out course vouchers to us! So I’m finally deciding to use mine, before my Italian skills rust beyond further repair (which they may or may not already have). When I took the subject in high school, I’d say that my level was about a B1? But after taking the self-assessment I decided to enrol in A2 level. My passive skills (reading, listening) are still pretty solid, but my writing and speaking…well 😀 The first class is tonight so I’ll be excited to let you guys know how it goes!!

On the Japanese front, I’ll be taking Japanese at university this semester. I last took it in semester 1 of last year and I did pretty well in it, I didn’t find it too hard? And the pace and workload was enjoyable. The only problem is that we use An Integrated Approach to Intermediate Japanese in class and…well I finished that in the summer hehe. Ah well.

I am interning at an Asian pop culture and media website, so I currently write articles about Asian music/bands/artists etc. and help out with social media and translation. I’m in charge of Japanese so I’ve been busy practising my listening skills for translation! It’s a little hard but not too bad once I slow down the video a bit. One of my favourite K-pop groups also just did a two-week promotion in Japan so I did some translation of Japanese fanaccounts and articles for the fandom and made some connections with Japanese fans on Twitter in my own spare time. So I’m feeling quite proud ^_^

Furthermore, I also went to my favourite secondhand Japanese bookstore here in Sydney – Hondarake! It’s been a long while since I’ve been but it’s still just as wonderful. My ex-otaku friend recommended me some manga series so I decided to pick up the complete series of Death Note. It’s a classic right? Even better is the fact that I bought the whole twelve volumes (plus an official guide) for…$40 AUD?! That’s about half-price (or maybe even less). And look how pristine they are?!?!?! So I’ve been reading that on the train to and from work – I’ve almost finished Volume 1! But I think I will have to go over it with a dictionary just to make sure I get the most out of it.

Edit175

So that’s it for today I guess. I don’t know when I’ll be able to update again but I really will try. I enjoy reading all of your supportive comments and updates and I do love this blog and what it stands for very much :3 It’s going to be a very, very busy semester for me and I’m not sure if I’ll even be able to get through it but I’m still excited for what is ahead. My grades last semester were pretty good and I’m determined to keep trying and to better myself. And I hope that you guys can too! But before I sign off, here’s my obligatory food photo: 1Ton noodles with slow-cooked pork belly and soy sauce egg.

Edit174

Baci ed abracci! xx

Standard

4 thoughts on “renaissance.

    • コメントをありがとう!そうするよ ^^ でも、最近、日本語を勉強する時間があまりないから今JLPTのことを心配している。。。

    • Je suis contente que mon blog se soit servi comme un rappel pour vous ! Vous n’avez rien à perdre si vous recommencez vos études de japonais. Bonne chance ! ^_^

Leave a Reply

