Learning Tips, Miscellaneous, Resources

rhetoric.

Edit181

Hi guys! I realised that I was due in for my monthly update on this blog, so here I am πŸ˜€ Thankfully, it’s my 1 week mid-semester break at the moment so I have a minute to bash out this post.

My 9-week Italian course finished recently. We had a little class party with lots of food and we did a fun speaking activity to cap things off – we were split into groups and we had to invent our own pub, before introducing it to the rest of the class in Italian. Somebody brought wine and needless to say, I have never cried so hard with laughter in class before – I have subsequently learned that alcohol and language learning mixesΒ molto bene! My voucher actually covers two terms so I think I will enrol for the next 9-week session. In the meantime, the teacher has given us some ‘holiday homework’ to do so I am hoping to tackle that before lessons kick off again in mid-October.

IΒ did end up signing up for JLPT N2…but to be honest, I really wasn’t sure about it. But then Dad was just like, “yolo, it can’t hurt” so here I am, $90 poorer (after paying that damn registration fee). I haven’t started studying for it though. This is terrible! I have listening materials and kanji and vocabulary flashcards lined up…but does anybody know if there are any free reading practice materials for N2 floating around on the Net? If you do, please leave a comment and I will give you a beautiful ramen photo in my next post πŸ˜›

But in more proactive language learning land, I have recently signed up to Conversation Exchange! I decided that it was finally time to grab the bull by the horns and just open my mouth lol. I have had a Skype session with a French guy living in Paris. I am using Wechat to talk to and send Mandarin messages to somebody living in Tianjin, China. And I met up with a Japanese girl here in Sydney to have a chat in person! She likes ramen too!!1! We have started a two-person ramen club (pls join guys!). I was really hesitant about getting that first message and having these first meetings but the site is really busy (I get several messages everyday) and although you will get some weird messages, you aren’t obliged to respond to them and it’s all very safe and positive – because nearly everybody else just wants a language exchange partner too! I’d recommend the site ^^ If you’re on the site as well, just leave me a comment and I’ll happily link you my profile details πŸ™‚

Conversation Exchange

So that’s about it from me. Just super burned out from university and super hyped up from language exchange. What a wonderful state of mind to be in. But I hope that you guys are well at least – let me know what you’ve been up to do, and happy language learning ^^

Standard

9 thoughts on “rhetoric.

  1. Hannah says:

    Hey! Glad to hear your studies are going well πŸ™‚ I have a few resources for N2 that might be useful, http://www.jlpt.jp/e/samples/sample12.html, http://jlptbootcamp.com/2012/04/jlpt-n2-practice-test/ are two sites that I’ve found. JLPT bootcamp is also pretty good ^^ Good luck! I’m aiming to go for it next year πŸ™‚ I’ll have to check out Conversation Exchange, have you tried iTalki? I’ve signed up to that and HelloTalk but I’m just so nervous ^^;

    • Hello! Thanks for the links – will definitely look into those ^^
      Tbh…I think the sensible thing would be for me to do it next year…but if I do badly I can always approach it more seriously again next time! I don’t have anything to lose.
      I know about iTalki but I haven’t tried it for its exchange function, but would like to try some of its teachers sometime soon. I like Conversation Exchange because you can also arrange to meet people in person if you so wish. I am a bit shy too but it’s alright! Everybody is learning, and you can tell if people are friendly and serious learners from their messages. If it makes it better, you can just use the audio-only function on Skype ^^

  2. meloncreme says:

    Hi! Dunno if you remember me. Haha! Since when did you start learning Italian? Omg, do you have like online resources for Italian? I recently started learning. Just basic stuff though. Anyway, I moved to new blog.

Leave a Reply

